Headline News
Vettel knew winning with Ferrari will be hard (November 9, 2016 10:41 pm)
Palmer unhappy with his chassis (April 30, 2016 11:11 am)
Verstappen might move up in 2017 (April 30, 2016 11:04 am)
Sirotkin will get more Friday outings (April 30, 2016 10:35 am)

Australian GP 2014 – Practice 2 – Results


Lewis Hamilton takes the lead for Mercedes in the second free practice of the Australian Grand Prix.

Lewis_Hamilton-Australian_GP-F01This morning’s opening session in Melbourne, the first of Formula One racing’s new turbocharged hybrid 1.6-litre V6 engine era, saw Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso top the times from McLaren’s Jenson Button. Williams duo Valtteri Bottas and Felipe Massa were third and fourth fastest, ahead of home favourite Daniel Ricciardo in the Red Bull.

Nico Rosberg was sixth fastest, but team mate Lewis Hamilton – another of the pre-race favourites – had a nightmare session as his Mercedes ground to a smoky halt on his first lap of the day. Lotus and Caterham were two other teams who hit trouble in FP1, with Romain Grosjean unable to get out of the Lotus garage at all.

Mercedes lived up to their billing as pre-race favourites by taking a commanding one-two in second practice in Australia on Friday afternoon.
Lewis Hamilton, who missed almost all of FP1 after his car developed a technical issue, showed team mate Nico Rosberg the way, with Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and Red Bull’s Sebastian Vettel in third and fourth positions.


Pos. Drivers Teams Time Laps
01. United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:29.625 37
02. Deutschland Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:29.782 31
03. Spain Fernando Alonso Scuderia Ferrari 1:30.132 28
04. Deutschland Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1:30.381 41
05. United Kingdom Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes 1:30.510 33
06. Australia Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:30.538 38
07. Finland Kimi Raikkonen Scuderia Ferrari 1:30.898 32
08. Finland Valtteri Bottas Williams Martini Racing 1:30.920 38
09. Denmark Kevin Magnussen McLaren Mercedes 1:31.031 34
10. Deutschland Nico Hulkenberg Sahara Force India 1:31.054 33
11. France Jean-Eric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:31.060 35
12. Brazil Felipe Massa Williams Martini Racing 1:31.119 31
13. Mexico Sergio Perez Sahara Force India 1:31.283 36
14. Deutschland Adrian Sutil Sauber F1 Team 1:32.355 36
15. Mexico Esteban Gutierrez Sauber F1 Team 1:32.468 26
16. Russia Daniil Kvyat Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:32.495 36
17. France Jules Bianchi Marussia F1 Team 1:33.486 29
18. France Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 Team 1:32.646 12
19. United Kingdom Max Chilton Marussia F1 Team 1:34.757 29
20. Sweden Marcus Ericsson Caterham F1 Team no time 1
21. Japan Kamui Kobayashi Caterham F1 Team no time 0
22. Venezuela Pastor Maldonado Lotus F1 Team no time 0