Headline News
Palmer unhappy with his chassis (April 30, 2016 11:11 am)
Verstappen might move up in 2017 (April 30, 2016 11:04 am)
Sirotkin will get more Friday outings (April 30, 2016 10:35 am)

Australian GP 2014 – Practice 3 – Results


Nico Rosberg keeps the silver arrows on top while Jenson Button moves McLaren ahead.

Nico_Rosberg-Australian_GP-2014-F01Yesterday we saw Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso and Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton top the first two practice sessions of the 1.6-litre turbocharged hybrid V6 engine era, whilst reigning world champions Red Bull showed much more promising pace and reliability than in testing. Williams, McLaren and Force India also all looked competitive.

As expected, however, several teams suffered technical issues, including Lotus and Caterham, both of whom had to make changes to parts of the Renault power units on their cars. Along with Marussia, Lotus also broke the curfew on extended working hours last night as they continued to prepare the E22 for qualifying.

In an enthralling hour of action at Albert Park, the German lapped in 1m 29.375s on the soft tyres to finish over a second ahead of McLaren’s Jenson Button they were followed by Fernando Alonso for third, Lewis Hamilton and Daniel Ricciardo for fourth and fifth respectively.

Pos. Drivers Teams Time Laps
01. Deutschland Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:29.375 15
02. United Kingdom Jenson Button McLaren Mercedes 1:30.766 20
03. Spain Fernando Alonso Scuderia Ferrari 1:30.876 11
04. United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:30.919 13
05. Australia Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Racing 1:30.970 13
06. Deutschland Nico Hulkenberg Sahara Force India 1:30.978 16
07. Finland Kimi Raikkonen Scuderia Ferrari 1:31.156 12
08. Denmark Kevin Magnussen McLaren Mercedes 1:31.251 22
09. Mexico Sergio Perez Sahara Force India 1:31.665 17
10. Brazil Felipe Massa Williams Martini Racing 1:31.723 20
11. Russia Daniil Kvyat Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:31.925 17
12. Deutschland Sebastian Vettel Williams Martini Racing 1:32.255 14
13. France Jean-Eric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:32.417 16
14. France Jules Bianchi Marussia F1 Team 1:34.184 15
15. Deutschland Adrian Sutil Sauber F1 Team 1:34.188 16
16. Japan Kamui Kobayashi Caterham F1 Team 1:34.413 19
17. United Kingdom Max Chilton Marussia F1 Team 1:34.717 15
18. Venezuela Pastor Maldonado Lotus F1 Team 1:34.754 15
19. Sweden Marcus Ericsson Caterham F1 Team 1:36.159 21
20. Finland Valtteri Bottas Williams Martini Racing no time 2
21. Mexico Esteban Gutierrez Sauber F1 Team no time 2
22. France Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 Team no time 4