Headline News
Palmer unhappy with his chassis (April 30, 2016 11:11 am)
Verstappen might move up in 2017 (April 30, 2016 11:04 am)
Sirotkin will get more Friday outings (April 30, 2016 10:35 am)

Belgian Grand Prix Practice 1 – Results


After yet another three weeks summer break, the teams have reconvened in the Ardennes forest for one of the most historic races of them all.

Fernando_Alonso-Hungarian_GPSpa, along with Silverstone, Monaco and Monza, was one of the tracks visited in the inaugural world championship season of 1950.

As for the 7.004-kilometre (4.352 mile) track, it’s unchanged since last year, apart from improvements to some kerbs and the addition of some shallow drainage grooves on the start/finish straight.

However, there is an additional DRS zone for this year’s race. The first remains on the Kemmel Straight, with detection midway down the hill into Eau Rouge, while the second is on the start-finish straight with detection just prior to the final chicane.

Pirelli have brought their orange-marked hard and white-marked medium compound tyres to Belgium – the two hardest compounds in their range. These should be ideal for dealing with the high-energy demands of the circuit and its very high-speed compressions such as the legendary Eau Rouge down and uphill swoop.

Full Belgian GP practice one results below:

Pos. Drivers Teams Time Laps
01. Spain Fernando Alonso Scuderia Ferrari 1:55.198 11
02. United Kingdom Paul di Resta Sahara Force India 1:55.224 10
03. Deutschland Adrian Sutil Sahara Force India 1:55.373 11
04. Mexico Sergio Perez Vodafone McLaren Mercedes 1:55.518 14
05. Deutschland Nico Rosberg Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:55.614 10
06. Deutschland Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Racing 1:55.636 14
07. Mexico Esteban Gutiérrez Sauber F1 1:55.954 18
08. Deutschland Nico Hulkenberg Sauber F1 1:56.110 11
09. Australia Daniel Ricciardo Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:56.770 14
10. Finland Valtteri Bottas Williams F1 1:56.858 18
11. Brazil Felipe Massa Scuderia Ferrari 1:56.863 10
12. Venezuela Pastor Maldonado Williams F1 1:57.081 14
13. France Jean-Eric Vergne Scuderia Toro Rosso 1:57.084 17
14. United Kingdom Jenson Button Vodafone McLaren Mercedes 1:57.281 14
15. United Kingdom Lewis Hamilton Mercedes AMG Petronas 1:57.358 10
16. Finland Heikki Kovalainen Caterham F1 Team 1:57.821 16
17. Holland Giedo van der Garde Caterham F1 Team 1:57.887 16
18. United Kingdom Max Chilton Marussia F1 1:58.600 14
19. Australia Mark Webber Red Bull Racing 1:58.929 12
20. France Jules Bianchi Marussia F1 1:59.209 12
21. Finland Kimi Raikkonen Lotus F1 1:59.441 11
22. France Romain Grosjean Lotus F1 2:03.176 15