Australian GP 2014 – Practice 1 – Results


Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso ended the first session of Formula One racing’s new turbocharged hybrid 1.6-litre V6 engine era on top, as the 2014 season got underway in Australia on Friday.

Fernando_Alonso-Australian_GP-T01This race is the first in Formula One racing’s new turbocharged hybrid 1.6-litre V6 engine era, and the sense of excitement at Melbourne’s Albert Park circuit is palpable.  Having shown great pace in pre-season testing, Mercedes and Williams enter the race in Melbourne as favourites, but the truth is that nobody knows for sure what to expect.

As was the case last season, Formula One racing’s tyre suppliers Pirelli will provide two compounds of dry tyre for each race, and for Australia they’ve chosen the white-marked medium and yellow-marked soft compounds. One of the seven sets of medium tyres available to each driver can only be used in the first 30 minutes of this session and must be handed back to Pirelli after the session.

01.Spain Fernando AlonsoScuderia Ferrari1:31.84020
02.United Kingdom Jenson ButtonMcLaren Mercedes1:32.35723
03.Finland Valtteri BottasWilliams Martini Racing1:32.40327
04.Brazil Felipe MassaWilliams Martini Racing1:32.43119
05.Australia Daniel RicciardoRed Bull Racing1:32.59926
06.Deutschland Nico RosbergMercedes AMG Petronas1:32.60417
07.Deutschland Sebastian VettelRed Bull Racing1:32.79310
08.Denmark Kevin MagnussenMcLaren Mercedes1:32.84728
09.Finland Kimi RaikkonenScuderia Ferrari1:32.97719
10.France Jean Eric VergneScuderia Toro Rosso1:33.44630
11.Deutschland Nico HulkenbergSahara Force India1:33.53323
12.Mexico Sergio PerezSahara Force India1:33.85524
13.Russia Daniil KvyatScuderia Toro Rosso1:34.27227
14.Mexico Esteban GutierrezSauber F1 Team1:35.5787
15.Deutschland Adrian SutilSauber F1 Team1:36.44513
16.France Jules BianchiMarussia F1 Team1:40.8596
17.United Kingdom Max ChiltonMarussia F1 Team1:46.9224
18.Sweden Marcus EricssonCaterham F1 Teamno time1
19.United Kingdom Lewis HamiltonMercedes AMG Petronasno time1
20.Japan Kamui KobayashiCaterham F1 Teamno time1
21.Venezuela Pastor MaldonadoLotus F1 Teamno time2
22.France Romain GrosjeanLotus F1 Teamno time0